Spring Cleaning out the Fridge…

Wow, I hadn’t realized how long it’d been since I’d blogged. So much going on, work has been exhausting, another hospital admission for my daughter, Christmas and New Year……oh, and my beloved Apple G5 finally died. Bought second hand 10 years ago, it’s been a wonderful computer that did everything I asked of it. I’m currently saving for a new computer, but in the meantime, I’m going to try and update here using my Acer tablet, and Google Drive to store my photos. All new to me, thank goodness I have a very tech savvy teenage son to help his poor old mum whos’ first PC was a ZX Spectrum +. Ah, the good old days – I remember when 8″ floppy discs were the way to go!!!!

Anyway, what have I been up to? Well, remember I went back to work? Doing admin in an office, nowhere near a kitchen? Aye, well, here’s a tip for you – when you put ‘able and willing to go above and beyond the call of duty’ on your CV, you better mean it!!!! So, the chef’s off and there’s no-one else to cook, and your boss  remembers you saying you could cook?  Guess who stepped in and got the run of a professional kitchen for the day? Only sightly problematic in that, as a vegetarian, I couldn’t taste some of it, but other staff members seemed quite keen to help me out there. Hmmm…….

I just kept saying to myslf ‘pretent they’re Quorn…….’

So, just to ease myself back into the blogging vibe, and as I’ve been clearing out my fridge, a nice and easy Lentil soup that we had for lunch today along with (just a photo of) a Victoria sponge cake.

  1. 2 – 3 cups of finely diced vegetables. I had some celery, quarter of a cabbage, an onion and a couple of carrots hanging around the fridge.
  2. 250g red lentils
  3. 3 vegetable stock cubes
  4. 2 lt boiling water

Chop the vegetables finely, best done in a processor, and throw into a large pot with the oil, place over a high heat, and stir until they’re coated and starting to soften.

 Crumble in the stock cubes and add the boiling water .

 

educe the heat to a gentle simmer and place a lid on it and let it cook for at least an hour.

Once the lentil have softened to mush, go in with a stick blender and blitz till you’re got the consistancy you want.

 

And the Victoria sponge turned out pretty well……..

And, just to finish the clear out, how about a cheese and fajita omlet? With sweet and sour sauce no less!!!! I really hate food waste!!!!!

This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

