Summertime, And The Livin’ Is……….

……strawberry.

I’m not really a gâteaux gal. If you look back at the cakes I’ve made, I don’t think there’s one. Anywhere. But I follow a page on Facebook for the Scandinavian Kitchen, which is down in London and so somewhere I’ve never been (but if you live close enough then lucky you), but they posted a photo yesterday of what can only be described as the most sumptuous cake I’ve seen in a long time and I had to comment that, if I wanted a piece I’d have to make it myself. They didn’t post a recipe, so this is my interpretation of what I saw, a kind of Anglo-Scandi cake, using a Madiera sponge cake, sliced with my Ikea ‘Smaksam‘ cake decorating set, and with the principles of a good old-fashioned Victoria sandwich cake. I hope you like it.

For the Madiera cake

  1. 225g butter
  2. 225g sugar
  3. 225g self-raising flour
  4. 100g plain flour
  5. 4 large eggs
  6. Grated rind and juice of 1 lemon

You will also need………..

  1. 600ml double cream
  2. 2 tbsp icing sugar
  3. 1tsp vanilla extract
  4. 250g strawberry jam
  5. 200g fresh strawberries

Grease and line a 24cm (9″) loose bottomed cake tin and preheat your oven to 170˚C

You can use the ‘all-in-one’ method to make the cake by placing all the cake ingredients into a food processor and beating them together. Once the oven is hot enough, scrape the mixture into the cake tin, even the top, and bake for 1 hour/1 hour 15 minutes. Check it’s cooked through by inserting a skewer and it comes out clean. 

IMG_9082

I did this the night before as the cake needs to be completely cold – it makes slicing it so much easier, also trying to spread cream in a warm cake just isn’t going to work. It’ll be nasty

Slice the cake horizontally into 3 slices. If you’ve got a steady hand and a lot of confidence use a very sharp serrated knife. If you’re chicken, like me, try to get hold of a thing that looks like a cheese wire, but it’s for cakes. I got mine in Ikea (link’s above in the intro).

IMG_9085

Put the cream, icing sugar and vanilla extract into a food mixer and whisk until thick and spreadable.

IMG_9090

And then it’s just an assembly job. Place the base piece of sponge on a serving plate and spread with half the jam, then dollop on a large spoonful of the cream and spread it to the edges. Put the middle piece of sponge on top and repeat.

IMG_9091

Cover the top and sides with most of the remaining cream, but keep a little bit back. Slice up some of the strawberries and arrange in a circle around the crown of the cake and strew the remaining in the centre of the cake. Now take the remaining cream and carefully go round the top, sort of building a wall to keep the strawberries in place, just so the strawberries don’t slide off.

IMG_9105

Oh, and don’t forget to wipe the edges of the serving plate!!!!

This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert, Lunch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

