When Life Hands You Lemons………

I shall post this, but don’t expect me to like it. It’s just too painful. 

Let me explain……….due to some gastric problems within the family, I’m having to cook ‘gluten free’ for the next 3 weeks. I’m crossing everything I’ve got (which makes walking very problematic) that it doesn’t turn out to be an intolerance, but most other avenues have been exhausted 😦 I tried to make GF Mince pies at the weekend, but the shortcrust recipe in the packet of GF flour I bought was pants (technical term there). You could weld them together and make a bullet-proof vest. I was a bit worried for the welfare of my teeth!!!! So, it’s back to the drawing board for baking anything and, in the meantime, I’ll post a couple of recipes that I’ve already written up. 

Lemon Drizzle Cake

For the cake

  1. 200g soft margarine
  2. 250g caster sugar
  3. 3 large eggs
  4. finely grated zest of 2 lemons
  5. 250 self-raising flour
  6. 0.5 tsp baking powder
  7. 100 ml milk

For the topping

  1. 100g caster sugar
  2. juice of 2 lemons plus the zest of one

Preheat your oven to 180˚C and grease and line a 900g loaf pan.

An easy cake to make using the ‘all in one’ method.  Place all the ingredient into a bowl and either whisk with an electric whisk, give yourself a good workout with a wooden spoon, or just let it combine for a few minutes on medium speed in a food mixer until you’ve got a smooth batter.

Put the batter into the prepared pan, and smooth it evenly out. Bake in the pre-hearted oven for 1 hour – 1 hour 15 minutes. Test it by inserting a skewer into the centre and, when it comes out cleanly then the cake is baked. If it starts looking a bit too brown then place a sheet of tinfoil over the top to stop it burning.

IMG_8834

While it’s baking mix the lemon juice, zest and sugar together to make a glaze. As soon as the cake is cooked prick the top all over with a skewer and spoon the glaze over the top and let it soak into the cake. The holes will encourage the glaze to soak into the interior. Let the cake cool completely before removing it from the pan.

IMG_8840

You should have a  sugary ‘crust’ on the top.

IMG_8842

 

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When Life Hands You Lemons………

  1. Jaki says:

    It’s in the oven right now…….dead easy recipe so right up my street!!

  2. JennyMac says:

    My goodness I could just eat a good slice of this one. XXX Looks beautiful XXZX

  3. Snowy says:

    Love lemon drizzle and yours looks yummy.

Leave a Reply

