Muffin Tops

I swear I never ever though I’d be one of those women who waft, Nigella like, into a kitchen and start baking for breakfast, murmuring under their breaths about how easily one could whip up a batch of muffins for breakfast. I’m more a toast or cereal person. Sure, at the weekends I can plop a couple of eggs, a potato scone or two and some mushrooms into a frying pan and feel that I’m partaking in a Great British traditional breakfast with the best of them. I’ll even slap bread into beaten up eggs and shove some French Toast onto plates on school mornings. But baking???? But I have been straying from the weight loss path. My beloved 5:2 Diet seems to have reached a permanent plateau. The 2 good dieting days seem to have been overtaken by the 5 non-dieting days. I’ve put on 2 kilos. So, my solution is not to try and increase the amount of ‘fasting’ days on the 5:2 (making it, in effect, a 4:3) but to go back to counting calories. So I’ve been studying my cookery books (bless, did you notice Flora on the Great British Bakeoff saying she had almost 100 cookery books? Wait till you get to 300!!!!) and have been working out calories and making daily menu plans. And so today, I was scheduled to make muffins for breakfast. I fear it’s a slippery slope – I’ll have to get myself a slinky pair of jammies and a silk goonie for midnight feasts. And I will – at least as soon as I can fit into them.

IMG_8783

Honey and Yoghurt Muffins

  1. 225g plain flour
  2. 1.5 tsp baking powder
  3. 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  4. 0.5 tsp each mixed spice and nutmeg
  5. pinch of salt
  6. 50 pinhead oatmeal
  7. 50g soft light brown sugar
  8. 225g low fat Greek yoghurt
  9. 125 ml semi-skimmed milk
  10. 1 medium egg
  11. 50g melted butter
  12. 4 tbsp runny honey

Preheat the oven to 200˚C and line a 12 hole muffin tin with muffin cases.

IMG_8776

A recipe in 2 parts. First of all, the dry ingredients. Place the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, spices, salt, oatmeal and the sugar into a large bowl and mix them all together. Then secondly measure out all the other wet ingredients in a jug and whisk them all together. You can actually do this the night before. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour the liquid ones into it. Slowly start folding them together. When you can no longer see the flour, but it still looks lumpy then that’s it done. If you’ve got one, use an ice cream scoop to fill the muffin cases. It makes sure that they’ve all got the same amounts. Place in the preheated oven for 17 – 20 minutes.

IMG_8782

Now, according to Good Housekeeping’s ‘Complete Healthy Cookbook’ this comes in at 180 calories each. But, then again, they didn’t specify low-fat yoghurt or semi-skimmed milk, so possibly a little bit lower. Regardless, two of them with a cup of tea certainly sets you up for the day. The rest will be going into the freezer for those mornings when I can’t bring myself to be such a goddess.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cake and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Muffin Tops

  1. tilly says:

    Whats a goonie ?
    The muffins sound gorgeous

  2. Snowy says:

    We love muffins so these must be on my ‘to bake’ list. They sound really good.

Leave a Reply

