Salad Daze

They seek her here, they seek her there…………………

Yes, I’ve been elusive for a while, but it’s the school holidays and things have been ahappening here at Chez Moi. To start, my first-born has now left school and will be starting college in about 2 weeks. It’s weird how fast the years seem to have passed. Hardly seems a minute ago that he was clutching my hand nervously and being ushered into his Primary 1 classroom. Probably didn’t help that he was stung by a wasp on his third day, but he’s overcome that rocky start and it’s onwards and upwards for him. My daughter is going into her 5th year of Secondary school and will be sitting some fairly important exams at the end of it, so there’s been some schoolwork done, even though it’s the holidays, and she’s knuckling down and getting a head-start with it all. They really are becoming young adults so I’ve just tried to make the most of the holidays and spent as much time with them as I can. It’s going to be weird just waving one off on the bus instead of two. Dagnabit, I must have a speck of dust in my eye. ‘Cuse me.

Anyhow, as I mentioned, it’s summer here. Not been the best by any means, but we’ve had some glorious days and the barbeque has seen some action so not too bad. For Scotland, I suppose, you could say it’s been phenomenal. Today is a case in point. It was fairly cold and dull this morning, but by 11.00am the sun had burst through and it’s been fantastic. Almost too warm. So I didn’t want to spend too long in the kitchen, and definitely not anything heavy. I spotted some ‘heirloom’ tomatoes when I was out shopping and had bought some, so Tabouleh salad which takes a whole 10 minutes of boiling the grains to cook fits the bill perfectly. Those 10 minutes are spent chopping the veg and herbs so in the end it’s just a ‘throw it all together’ dish that you can make hours in advance as it tastes even better when the flavours have had a chance to mingle. All good stuff.

Tabouleh Salad

  1. 100g bulgur wheat
  2. 100g any kind of tomatoes (halved of using cherry, quartered if bigger)
  3. 0.5 a cucumber diced
  4. 0.5 red onion, finely diced
  5. 10g mint sprigs
  6. 20g parsley
  7. 2 tsp garlic puree
  8. Juice of half a lemon
  9. Salt and pepper

Bring a small saucepan of water to the boil and add a pinch of salt and the bulgur wheat grains. Allow to boil for 10 minutes then drain in a sieve. Cool them down quickly with cold water under the tap and sit the sieve over a bowl to catch any drips remaining.

IMG_8708

While this is cooking prepare the vegetables. Cut up the tomatoes, cucumber and red onion. Roll the herbs into a thick sausage and go over it a few times with a knife to shred them. Put all these ingredients into a serving bowl and add the garlic puree, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Mix thoroughly.

IMG_8706

Combine the vegetable/herb mixture with the cooked bulgur wheat. Check, and adjust, the seasoning. It can take a good few grinds of pepper, trust me.

IMG_8710

I served it with a Quorn fillet that I just fried and covered with a good dollop of ‘Levi Roots Reggae Reggae Jerk Barbeque Sauce’ to make a sticky glazed finish. Not too shabby, even if I do say so myself 😉

IMG_8713

This entry was posted in Salad, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

