Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

And now I’m singing the song in my head. Gee, thanks Meatloaf.

Sorry I’ve not been about for a while, but I’ve been laid low by the dreaded lurgy. Thought I might have avoided coughs, colds and general illness this winter (seeing as it’s now Spring!!!), but it wasn’t to be. And now it seems I’ve smitten my daughter as well. Nothing worse than being unwell during school holidays – she’s not happy about that at all 😀

I’ve been a busy little bee, trying out recipes that I’ve been drooling over for ages. And there’s only so long you can drool before you have to actually get yourself into gear and make the desired dish. And often it’s a blissful experience, but sometimes………not so much. So what made me drool? First of all, a very nice leek and potato soup. Delia Smith’s Leek, Onion and Potato soup, to be precise. A classic that is well worth the very minimal effort it takes to make.

IMG_5138

Next, was Tomisina Miers Churros, from her book Mexican Food Make Simple. This has also been made, and written about, by Nigella Lawson in her Kitchen book. I found the sauce to be a bit bitter for my tastebuds (I can now see why, during a Christmas food fair a couple of years ago, one of the stalls was using heated though Nutella for the dipping sauce, something I might even try myself), but, all in all, very acceptable.

IMG_5147

Unfortunately, and much as I wanted to like it, Chloe Coscarelli’s Spinach and Artichoke dip was not to my taste at all. I’d even gone to the trouble of ordering the nutritional yeast from Amazon as I can’t get it anywhere in my wee town. Now I’ve got two and a half tubs of the stuff that I’m going to have to find other recipes to use it in. Ah well, you live and learn.

IMG_5189

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

  1. sugarandsam says:

    …song is also stuck in my head now…

    • Sorreeeeee 😀 I spend an inordinate amount of time trying to work in my favourite songs. Although how I’m getting ‘The Grand Parade of Lifeless Packaging’ is proving problematic 😉

Leave a Reply

