Whisky……Galore?

It is freezing here –  thermal gloves on and my fingers STILL feel like blocks of ice. But I got a nice warm glow when I bumped into my landlord while walking Delta……………..’you’re fair losing the weight Lynn’ 😀 😀 😀 Yes, another 3kg have disappeared in January.  Kinda surprised about that though – I made this teabread as part of my Year of Scottish Food and Drink effort and it lasted less than 24 hours!!! Scoffed, well, not quite the entire lot, but I have to say that I can’t, in all honesty, blame the kids for eating all of it.

IMG_5012

I am listing it under my Scottish Food and Drink section, not because you can’t get a good teabread anywhere else, but because I managed to finish a bottle of whisky while making it. I rarely drink, but even I think that going though one bottle in 3 and a half years is pretty good at stretching it out.

Scottish Tealoaf

  1. 450g mixed dried fruits
  2. 250g granulated sugar
  3. 200ml strong hot tea
  4. 1tbsp Scotch whisky
  5. 450g Self Raising flour
  6. 1 teaspoon mixed spice
  7. 1 egg, beaten
  8. 1tbsp demerara sugar

First of all, make your tea. The hotter and stronger it is, the better. Add the dried fruits and the sugar to it, stir until the sugar has dissolved, and allow to steep for 15 – 30 minutes. The fruit will plump up in the hot liquid. Add the flour, the whisky and the mixed spice and give it a good stir. Add the egg last of all. If you add it too early then you run the risk of it cooking in the liquid if it is still hot (by 30 minutes though, it should been well cooled and not too hot).

IMG_5001

No need to use an electric whisk or mixer for this, I managed it easily with a wooden spoon. Grease and line a 900g (2lb) loaf tin and fill to the brim with the mixture. Scattered the top with the demerara sugar and pop it into a preheated oven (190C) for 50 minutes. If it starts to get a bit too well browned on top then place another bit of greaseproof paper on top. I had to do that after about 40 minutes.

IMG_5002

Once it comes out of the oven let the cake cool in it’s tin for about 5 minutes and then let it cool thoroughly on a wire rack.

IMG_5007

It’s lovely just as it is, but a slathering of butter just makes to world a better place.

IMG_5016

 

This entry was posted in Cake, Scottish, Scottish Year of Food and Drinbk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Whisky……Galore?

  1. gazza141 says:

    Looks absolutely fantastic. May just have to try that one out. Assuming not kid friendly? 😉

    • To be honest……1 tablespoon between about 15 slices? It’s not going to give them an early start in a membership to Alcoholics Anonymous. I allowed my 15 year old diabetic daughter a slice (or 2) with no ill effects. You can always leave it out though if you’re worried.

  2. Jaki says:

    I saw this vision of loveliness and I am baking it right now….with a few cherries which are essential in a fruit cake lol!!

  3. Jaki says:

    Gazza141 I think if you are worried about the whisky you could add orange juice instead 🙂

  4. Snowy says:

    Just my kind of cake, Lynn. Even have some Scotch whisky to use, so on the ‘to make’ list for this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

