Peanuts!!!

They’re, apparently, ‘jungle fresh’. And here, I always thought this popular little legume was grown on farms by ex American President Jimmy Carter. You live and learn. You also get landed with a big bag of them after the festivities of Christmas and New Year are naught but a memory, receding faster than the starship Enterprise hitting Warp 6. Happy New Year, by the way. Salted peanuts aren’t really something to cook with, are they? Every recipe in my books seem to specify ‘unsalted’. Will I be sent to the cooking equivalent of the naughty step if I stray from this stricture? Shall I be forced to eat nothing but microwave meals for a week? And, more importantly………do I care? Well, slap my thigh and call me Lady Rebel, looks like I’m going in. I’m nothing if not a rule breaker!!!!

Peanut Cookies

  1. 50g soft margarine
  2. 75g crunchy peanut butter
  3. 50g sugar
  4. 1 egg
  5. 150 plain flour
  6. 1/2 tsp baking powder
  7. 50g peanuts

First of all, beat the margarine, peanut butter, sugar and egg together.It’s quite sloppy, so I just did it with a wooden spoon. Next add the flour and the baking powder and stir till it comes together into a firm dough.

IMG_4983

 

Roll the dough into walnut sized balls (I managed to get about 24 out of this amount), and put them onto a lined baking sheet. Press down lightly with a fork.

IMG_4989

 

Pop them into the fridge to chill for 15 minutes to help the dough firm up, and while this is happening roughly chop up the peanuts and preheat the oven to 190C. Sprinkle the peanuts over the cookies. You can press them in to stop them falling off and try to make sure none of them are sticking up too much as they’ll burn. Stick them into the oven for about 12 – 13 minutes and then take them out and let them cool completely before snarfing one (or two). I admit I’m not always able to wait 😀

IMG_4994

This entry was posted in Biscuit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peanuts!!!

  1. Snowy says:

    They look so moreish; my kids loved these when they were young, and I still do!

  2. ooh I love peanut cookies, what a great recipe

  3. petra08 says:

    This looks like a great recipes! I love peanut cookies 🙂

Leave a Reply

