Is It Time To Stop Hibernating Yet?

I know, I’m a bad blogger. I started the year with such good intentions, posting just after the New Year celebrations, and then what? Nothing for nearly 2 months. Looking for excuses and explanations are all very well, but does laziness actually count as an acceptable excuse? But the sun is out, and there is a certain springlike exuberance in the air. Daffodils and crocuses are coming up, so it’s time I shake off my lethargy and get myself into a ‘cooking frame of mind’ (goodness, got a nod to Billy Joel in there as well). I seem to have hit a plateau with the 5:2 Diet, so I’m taking a break and just trying to eat sensibly for now. I’ve done not too badly on what isn’t actually a weight loss diet (I’ve lost about 10kg – or 22lbs for the non-metricated) so I’m happy about that. So I can now be a bit more relaxed and do a wee bit of baking. Yay. Apples give a good moistness to cakes, and there was a bag of dried cranberries left over from Christmas, so…………..

Apple and Cranberry Tealoaf.

  1. 100g butter or margarine
  2. 100g caster sugar
  3. 2 eggs
  4. 1 tbsp honey
  5. 100 dried cranberries
  6. 50g ground almonds
  7. 225g self-raising flour
  8. 1 level tsp mixed spice
  9. 1 medium (or 2 small) apple, cored, peeled and diced small

Grease and line a 9oog (2lb) loaf tin. Place all of the ingredients into a large bowl and mix thoroughly. Yes, you can use a wooden spoon but, to be honest, an electric mixer is far easier. Turn into the prepared tin and level the surface.

IMG_4140

Bake in the oven at 180C for 1 hour, then reduce the temp to 170 and leave for another 20 mins. Put some tinfoil over the top if it looks like it’s browning too much. Turn it out and cool on a wire rack. When it’s cold you can either dredge the top with icing sugar, or else slice and serve with butter and a cup of tea. This one didn’t even last a whole day!!!!!

IMG_4145

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is It Time To Stop Hibernating Yet?

  1. Honey says:

    This looks good Lynn, I’m going to do this as I have all the ingredients. I think Mike is sick of Christmas cake! If it’s not gone by February I’ll bin it !!

Leave a Reply

