Sooper Dooper.

Well okay, so my wee break stretched a bit longer that I anticipated. Sorry ’bout that.

So, what have I been up to? As the brief of this blog is that ‘everything that goes on in my kitchen is fair game’ then I should tell you that I splurged on a new set of electronic scales. My last set broke quite a while ago and I was using my old-fashioned balance scales. Which is fine and dandy as long as you don’t need to be more precise that 5g either way, and as long as you don’t lose that 5g weight and then you can’t be more precise than 10g either way, then you’re okay. But I DO need to be precise when weighting food for Katy, what with her Diabetes, so…………………tadaaaaah!!!!!!

IMG_3769IMG_3771

The Duronic KS5000 Digital Scale is fab-u-lous!!!!! Cheaper than a new set of weights, cool and modern looking on my dresser, and dammit, I’m not even getting paid for this review 😦

What else have I been up to? Book buying. From The Book People. I love this company, never had a problem with them and find their prices to be very good indeed. I can usually be found with multiple windows open on my computer comparing prices. Really, I think price comparison sites have missed a trick just concentrating on boring stuff like insurance quotes. 9 cookery books with a combined RRP of  £146.93  for a stinking, measly £45.32 And that’s free P&P as well (for orders over £25!!!!!). Prashad Cookbook, The Store Cupboard Vegetarian, Anjum’s Vegetarian Feast, Korean Vegetarian, The Preserves Kit, Ken & Ching: Exploring China, Notes from the Jam Cupboard, The Turkish Kitchen and last, but not least, Modern Moroccan (the library will be so excited – they can finally get their copy back 😀 ). Also not paid for this review.

And yes, finally, a recipe that I cooked from one of these books, The Store Cupboard Vegetarian. Actually, it was 2 recipes I made from this book. and even though they are 2 totally different recipes, I discovered that the fresh herb purée from the Curried Lentil Soup goes awfully well with the Herby Chickpea Pancakes with Halloumi. And since I tweaked the recipes to reflect what was actually in my cupboards at the time, I feel that is is totally within the ethos of the book.

Curried Lentil Soup with Fresh Herb Purée.

  1. 1tbsp sunflower oil
  2. 1 onion, finely chopped
  3. 4 tsp Lazy Garlic purée
  4. 1 tsp Lazy Chilli
  5. 2 tsp turmeric
  6. 0.5tsp garam masala
  7. 1 medium sweet potato, diced
  8. 250g red lentils
  9. 1lt vegetable stock
  10. salt and pepper to taste.

Fresh Herb Purée

  1. 4 cherry tomatoes
  2. 1tsp Lazy Garlic
  3. 2tsp Lazy Ginger
  4. 1tsp Lazy chilli
  5. Handful of fresh corriander
  6. 1tbsp olive oil

IMG_3754Using the oil, gently fry the onion until it’s softened, but not coloured. Add the garlic, chilli, turmeric and garam masala and fry these together for another few minutes. Then add the sweet potatoes and lentils and stir them till they’re glistening with the oil. Use enough vegetable stock to cover them and bring to the boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for 45 – 60 minutes. If it’s very thick, add some more stock to get the right consistency. You can either serve it as is, or I actually put about half into a liquidiser and then re-added it to the remaining soup. Season with salt and pepper.

IMG_3756To make the fresh herb purée, simply add all the ingredients together, either in a liquidiser or using a stick blender, and blitz. Swirl a spoonful on top of the soup and et voilà – lunch is served.

This entry was posted in Indian, Soup, Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sooper Dooper.

  1. sebbyholmes says:

    This looks lovely. Fresh herb purée sounds like a perfect summer recipe thanks for sharing

  2. You’re welcome xx

  3. petra08 says:

    It looks delicious, I love the idea of a herb purée and the flavours together.

  4. Jacqueline says:

    Oh nice soup!

    I love the book people too. Dangerous site!

Leave a Reply

