Day Three of National Vegetarian Week…..

Okay, so I’m all fired up today. Could be something to do with having a great night out last night. Cheeky wee meal with my 2 favourite people in the world – that’s my kids in case you didn’t know – and then we finally got round to seeing the new Star Trek movie Star Trek: Into Darkness. Those of you who have discovered this blog because of the food might like to know that I’m also a Trekker (or Trekkie) of good standing. It’s over 30 years since I attended my first convention, and I’m just as passionate about reading and watching SciFi as ever. Sometimes there’s even a crossover between my 2 worlds:

IMG_3735

But this morning you’re finding me with my cooking head on. And I’m going to give a nod to the 6 years that I spent living down in Wales. I was born and bred in Glasgow, but when I first got married I moved down to Swansea on the Gower peninsular. In fact, both my kids are ‘technically’, Welsh. And I have a wonderful Welsh step-daughter who used to get very upset when I made her call me her ‘wicked step-mother’ – as I told her, it’s in the job description!!!!! (she now does it gleefully BTW). This recipe was given to me by my  neighbour Pam, a lovely lady who presided over her enormous brood of 7 daughters and their numerous offspring, and took pity on a very homesick bride and took her under her wing. Everyone called her ‘Gran’, and she is still sadly missed.

Welsh Cakes

  1. 225g self raising flour
  2. 75g caster sugar
  3. 110g butter
  4. 110g mixed fruit
  5. 1 egg
  6. 1 tsp mixed spice
  7. If the mixture is too dry you can add a spot of milk
  8. Extra butter for greasing the pan.

You do need a heavy frying pan for this recipe. I’ve got a traditional cast iron griddle pan which weighs a TON but what you want is something that holds heat without burning. Flimsy pans are only fit for the bin.

IMG_2731Start by sifting the flour and combining it with the rest of the dry ingredients. Cut the butter into cubes and rub it in. Whisk the egg and add to the dry mix and then combine it into a dough. If it seems dry then this is when to add that spot of milk. Once it’s come together in a ball you roll it out on a floured surface  to about half a centimetre thickness. Use a fluted 2″ cookie cutter and cut out as many cakes as you can, re-rolling the scraps as you go along.

IMG_2734Heat your pan and smear with the merest trace of butter and cook your cakes (about 6 at a time) until they’re browned, then flip over and do the same for the other side.

IMG_2737Re-butter the pan between batches. They are traditionally served with lots of butter.

IMG_2745

These are so quick and easy that you can knock them out while you’ve got something else cooking in the oven and have yourself an old-fashioned baking day.

IMG_2750

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day Three of National Vegetarian Week…..

  1. Snowy says:

    Great choice Lynn. We love them and I often make them.

Leave a Reply

