Soup, Soup, Glorious Soup

…..nothing quite like it for making you poop.

Sorry, it was the only word that came to mind while I’m sitting here at the computer. Possibly inspired by a wee ‘accident’ by one of my dogs earlier this morning  😦

But, and I can’t quite believe that I’m saying this, it’s still soup weather here. Although the rest of the country has had lots of snow  this winter, the west of Scotland has escaped relatively unscathed. But it is bitterly cold still. So, instead of lighter foods, salads and even possibly an early barbecue, we’re still hunkering down with soups, stews and wrapping up well when we go outside.

One of the nicest soups I know how to make is a spicy ‘Thai’ inspired Butternut squash soup that I first had at a dinner party (doesn’t that sound nice and posh?) and made for me by my best friend. I took a spoonful and stopped dead. She thought it meant that I hated it. On the contrary – I was savouring every single delicious bit of it. I couldn’t believe that it was made with just 6 ingredients.

Thai Style Butternut Soup

  1. 1 medium Butternut squash, peeled, deseeded and diced into 1cm chunks
  2. 400ml tin of coconut milk
  3. 2lt vegetable stock (made with a stock cube is fine)
  4. 1 large onion, peeled and chopped
  5. 2tbsp curry paste
  6. olive oil for frying

IMG_3610

Place the chopped butternut squash and the onion into a large pan and drizzle with some olive oil. Stir the vegetables to make sure they’re well coated and then place over a low heat and allow them to cook until they’ve started to soften. Add the curry paste and stir through the. Keep stirring to make sure it doesn’t catch and after a minute, add the liquids. Reduce the heat and allow the soup to simmer until the squash is soft and can be easily squashed.

IMG_3611

Let the soup cool slightly, as if any of it splashes on you, it’ll burn, and then either put it into a liquidiser in batches to make it smooth, or else you can go in with a stick blender – which also cuts down on the washing up 😀

And do you remember Lucy, my cake loving cat? I was making some Chelsea Buns (didn’t quite work out, I’ll need more practice) and she was hiding behind the Butternut squash waiting her chance to grab some!!!!!

IMG_3479

Little minx!!!!!!!

 

This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soup, Soup, Glorious Soup

  1. Susan says:

    Ah you gave me that recipe a couple of years ago and my freezer is never without a portion or 2 of it . Scrummy

Leave a Reply

