Too Hot? Too Cold? Or Just Right?

I bought a book. About porridge. No, not Goldilocks and the 3 Bears (yes, you know who I’m talking about……..burglar, vandal and thief. She breaks into the house, smashes up the chairs, eats the porridge, and finally trashes the bedroom), but Porridge: Oats and their Many Benefits. It’s a very interesting book. Not only gives you some really nice looking recipes, but also looks at the health benefits, gives you some beauty treatments, and looks at the history of these unassuming little grains. However, I was rather surprised that, even though the author gives recipes for ‘traditional porridge, basic porridge’ and another two listed as ‘Traditional Scottish Porridge’, nowhere does she list the way that I, my Mother AND my Grandmother (all Scots to our bones) make/made it. All of these recipes list cooking the oats with the milk. I can tell you that I have spat out porridge made like this (yes, there is a hotel I will not darken the door of who served this abomination to me once).

‘Proper’ Scots Porridge

  1. 1 cup of porridge oats
  2. 2.5 cups of water
  3. 1 cup of milk
  4. 0.5 tsp of salt

IMG_3563

Place the water, the oats and the salt in a saucepan and heat gently while stirring constantly with a wooden spoon. After about 5 minutes it will thicken and become gloopy. Pour into a bowl. Keep your milk separate. If you add it, it will cool the porridge down. Take a little bit of milk onto your spoon and then a little bit of porridge. Eat. You may, if you are like me, even add a little more salt.

IMG_3561

Oh, and do you like the bigger photos? I’m trying them as an experiment.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Too Hot? Too Cold? Or Just Right?

  1. Honey says:

    My Mum (a Scot) made porridge the same way, the the milk was poured on the top once it was in your bowl and slightly set, just before you eat it. Like a puddle on the top!

  2. Heather says:

    Ooh, brings back memories. My father was a sixth generation Australian on one side, second on the other, but fiercely proud of his Scottish ancestry, as am I. Mum used to cook us porridge with a spurtle (possibly the only one in existence in Australia!).

  3. Heather says:

    And yes, love the big pics.

  4. Snowy says:

    Like the bigger photos.
    Oops, we have porridge every morning except Sunday – croissant day – and I make it, or rather cook it, with milk and water. So not a good Scot?!!
    Well, at least I’m a fellow Celt!

  5. Honey says:

    I have a spurtle and I also have my Mum’s spurtle. Mum’s is wonderfully gnarled… I’ll have to show you a photograph of it sometime Lynn… it’s burnt on the handle and also big grooves in it where we as children used it to hit the back of a knife with it when we were trying to break pink rock that people had bought us from the seaside. Happy memories.

Leave a Reply

