Lady Marmalade

Have you ever noticed that sometimes the sizing of bakeware can be a bit…..arbitrary? I’ve got a decent selection. I’ve got 6, 7, 8 and 9 inch cake tins, 7 and 8 inch sandwich tins, some muffin trays and some cupcake trays. They’ll get you through most recipes. What I can’t abide is when a recipe calls for 8 and a quarter inch, or 5 and two thirds inch measurements. Or, as I found out this morning. a tea loaf recipe that calls for 1 and a half pound loaf tins. What? I have 1 pound and I have 2 pound. I’ve never needed anything else. So should I try cutting a third off the amounts and squeeze into the 1 pound? Or should I scale up and see if I can make it into the 2 pound tin. I sat and looked at it. For an awful long time. So how does my solution strike you? Double everything and, instead of having enough for a 1 and a half pound tin, I’ll have enough for 3 pounds that I can then split it between a 1 and a 2 pound tin. All I’ll have to do is keep an eye on the timings.

So I’ll add that to the list of things that really irritate me (a thankfully small list and, to be honest, I’m also thankful that it’s all I’ve got to worry about). The other main cookery related one is manufacturers inability to make bottles of spices wide enough to get a teaspoon into.

Marmalade Teabread

  1. 400g plain flour
  2. 2 eggs
  3. 2 tsp ground ginger
  4. 2 tsp baking powder
  5. 100g softened butter or margarine
  6. 100g sugar
  7. 8 tbsp marmalade
  8. 6 tbsp milk

Grease your loaf tins, and line them to make getting the finished product out easier. Yes, even if they’re non stick. I’ve discover that you can still cheat a little bit and just do what I call half lining. It also makes lifting the cake out easier.

IMG_3486

Put the flour, ginger and baking powder into a large bowl and mix them together to make sure that you haven’t got any clumps of ginger sticking together (much as I love ginger, a big mouthful can be a bit much). And the butter, sugar, eggs, marmalade and about 4 tablespoons of the milk. Mix together with an electric whisk until you have a soft dough. You may need to add the rest of the milk to achieve the right consistency.

Spoon the mixture into the prepared tins and bake in a pre-heated oven at 170C for 50 minutes to an hour.

IMG_3487

Allow to cool before serving, spread with butter and a good hot cup of tea.

IMG_3495Oh, and can we have an unbiased opinion from our independent judges?

IMG_3493“Wuffwuff – if we sit here long enough, she’s bound to drop some eventually – wuffwuff.

And there you have it 😀

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lady Marmalade

  1. Kadeeae says:

    Pan size grievances here too, Lynn 😦

    And…. whilst on the subject (sort of)…. I always, always, always have a difficult time when trying to scale recipes for different pan sizes and thought maybe you could offer the words of wisdom I’ve been missing 🙂

    What I mean is, if a recipe calls for an 8in. square pan and I don’t have one – is an 8in round pan larger or smaller in terms of volume? Or say that a recipe is for a large traybake in something like a 9×13 pan and I want to use to 7in rounds or some other size single…. What I guess I’m asking after all of that is – do you know of “rules” for volume/pan sizes. Type of thing. *gawd* LOL

    I always thought a cake pan was ‘good’ at about half full, then again some recipes call for the pan to be only an inch or two from the top so this just confuses me more. Thinking this could be a post in it’s own right!

    Signed~
    Confused Coastal Cake Baker/Eater/Admirer

    lol

    • Dear Confused Coastal Cake Baker/Eater/Admirer

      Wot I have learned…………..
      If a recipe calls for an 8 inch round cake pan, it will also fit:
      2lb loaf pan, a 7 inch square pan and will also fill a 12 hole muffin pan.
      If a recipe calls for a square tin, and you want to use a round tin, go up one inch i.e.
      6″ square = 7″ round; 7″ square = 8″ round etc.
      And if you’re doing a large fruit cake, say 10″ and upwards, it’s advisable to reduce the oven temp after two thirds of the cooking time is up.
      Traybakes or special cakes (like a heart for St. Valentine’s Day, or a special mould for a child’s birthday). You have to fill your tin with water to the depth you want your cake to be and then measure the water.
      300ml use a recipe for a 5″ square/6″ round.
      750ml use a recipe for a 6″ square/7″ round
      1lt use a recipe for a 7″ square/8″ round
      1.1lt use a recipe for a 8″square/9″ round
      1.8lt use a recipe for a 9″square/10″ round

      Yours,

      Scrumplicious with a sore brain thinking about it all xxx

  2. Snowy says:

    Very useful Lynn. Thanks.x
    ps sorry about the sore head!

Leave a Reply

