Meat Free Mondays?

Or how about Vegan Mondays? As I’m already a vegetarian, I’m already doing meat-free on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wed……well, you get the idea. So I’ve decided (actually, it’s more like ‘we’ve’ decided, as this was originally Katy’s idea) to try and go Vegan for one day a week. There are a few dietary differences between Vegetarian and Vegan. According to the Vegetarian Society’s website:

“Someone who lives on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with, or without, the use of dairy products and eggs. A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or by-products of slaughter.”

A Vegan however, doesn’t partake of any animal product at all. No eggs, milk, cheese, honey (some people call themselves ‘Beegans’, which is just plain stupid in my book). They also don’t wear any silk, wool, leather, and any products for cleaning, for example, are likewise animal free and not tested on animals either. I already don’t wear leather or use make-up or cleaners that aren’t animal friendly or tested on them either. So it’s a step further along the path and one that I’ve been thinking about for a while. But a life without cheese? Aah, that’s the hardest step for me. We shall see.

Okay, back to my first attempt at vegan baking.  I have been reliably informed that when baking, a tablespoon of apple sauce makes a good replacement for an egg. Likewise, there are suitable spreads and milks available at my local Co-Op.  So off I trotted and came back with Vitalight (which I can’t see without that stupid song from their advert popping into my head), some almond milk, and a jar of own make apple sauce. I also decided to try one of the recipes from my new book, Karon Grieve’s ‘Simply Scottish Cakes and Bakes’. So, now I’ve got my ingredients and my basic recipe, let’s see how we get on……

Basic Scones

  1. 225g self raising flour
  2. 1 tablespoon sugar
  3. pinch of salt
  4. 90g Vitalight spread
  5. 1 tbsp apple sauce
  6. 50ml almond milk

Place all the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix together thoroughly. Add the milk, a spot at a time, and continue until the dough comes together and makes a pliant dough. Split the dough in half and roll into circles. Flatten them slightly and cut through (not all the way, but deep enough to make 4 individual scones). Sprinkle with a teaspoon more of sugar.

IMG_3458

Place in a pre-heated oven (200C) for 12-15 minutes, or until browned.

IMG_3465

Leave to cool, and then serve with more Vitalight and jam. Yes, I know – the state of my kitchen :-)

IMG_3466

They were delicious and no, they didn’t taste of apple sauce.

This entry was posted in Cake, Vegan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meat Free Mondays?

  1. Jan Metcalfe says:

    The scones look fabulous Lynn xxx

  2. tilly says:

    did they taste of almonds ?

  3. Jacqueline says:

    I’m always looking for new vegan recipes, especially sweet ones for my vegan husband. Think he would like these.

Leave a Reply

