Aaaaa-tofu…

Bless you 🙂

I’ve been having a few problems with my computer (hence the lack of anything resembling a new post for quite a while). The main one is that it’s actually getting on a bit and though I’ve had it for, oh, must be coming on for seven or eight years, it was bought second hand so I’m thinking it might even be nearer 10 years old. But it works, and works well. While everything else seems to rush, my old G5 keeps calm and carry’s on. Which is all well and good – except when other sites that I use decide to upgrade and my poor wee computer can no longer cope with the pace. Such is the situation with the site  that hosts the photos that I post here. They have upgraded to an ‘all bells and whistles’ standard and it’s taken me a while to figure it all out. At first I couldn’t get anything to upload, then I couldn’t copy and paste the photos that did……suffice to say I’m going to give you a recipe today and keep my fingers crossed that the accompanying photos work out okay.

Tofu and Rice Cakes

Tofu and Rice Cakes

Tofu and Rice Cakes

  1. 396g pack of tofu
  2. 150g basmati rice (uncooked)
  3. 3 tsp red curry paste
  4. 2 spring onion, finely chopped
  5. 1 tbsp fresh coriander, roughly chopped
  6. 1 egg, beaten lightly

Drain the pack of tofu and squeeze as much liquid out of it as possible. While it is draining, boil the rice until it is cooked. Let the rice cool and then combine all of the ingredients together. You could use a food processor for this, but it can make the mixture quite sloppy, so I used a potato masher to give it the right consistency.

Tofu cake mixture

Tofu cake mixture

Split the mixture into 20 evenly sized balls and place on 2 baking sheets lined with baking paper and put into a pre-heated oven (200C) and cook until the cakes are lightly browned, which should take about 15 to 20 minutes. Serve them with either a sweet chilli dipping sauce, or else thin down some mango chutney with water.

Tofu and Rice Cakes

Tofu and Rice Cakes

Serve them scattered with thinly slices red onion rings and some spring onions and they make a lovely starter or serve them with a salad for lunch.

EDIT: Oh, glory be, it worked!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Snack foods, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

