She Hasn’t – Has She?

I’m afraid that she has. Started another diet, that is. And it’s one that has the foodie world all atwitter. Yes, Dr Michael Moseley’s 5:2 Diet (also known as ‘intermittent fasting’) has reared it ugly head at ‘chez moi’. I watched the horizon documentary ‘Eat, Fast and Live Longer’ last year and thought that it was a good idea. I even asked my doctor if he thought it was a good idea (he said ‘yes’ BTW) and I followed it for a month – and lost 3kg – before I got bored/forgot/Christmas got in the way etc. etc. etc. But new years and, more importantly, New Year Resolutions, mean that I’ve got my dieting mojo back and I’m feeling up for it again.

You have to believe me when I say that I’m something of a diet expert. From being dragged to Weight Watchers by my mother while still at primary school, via Slimming Magazine classes to calorie counting for charity (and, I have to say that was the only method that actually worked for me) I’ve read, tried and failed so many times that it’s ridiculous. I know what to do, it’s just that, somehow, food magically seems to find it’s way into my mouth. Just this morning I was tidying up when I found a Custard Cream in my hand, about to be placed into my waiting mouth!!!! But this 5:2 diet seems to be so easy that even I might be able to follow it. It boils down to a few simple rules.

  • Eat normally 5 days per week. Now, ‘normally’ (we are told) means about 2000 calories for a woman, and 2500 calories for a man.
  • On 2 non-consecutive days, eat 500 calories for a woman, and 600 calories for a man.

I told you it was simple. So what that means is that I’ll be trying to make a few more restrained dishes so that, instead of not eating anything all day and keeping your 500 calories for one big meal in the evening (which is what I was doing, and probably the reason why I gave up after a month because the hunger was too much for me) I’ll be pacing myself out during the day.

Soba Noodle Soup

  1. 2l of vegetable stock
  2. 1 tbsp soy sauce
  3. 1 tbsp ginger paste
  4. 1 tbsp garlic paste
  5. 1 pack of stir fry vegetables (750g if using frozen)
  6. 100g soba noodles

Combine the ginger, garlic and soy sauce in a large pan. Add the vegetables and heat gentle before adding the stock. Bring to a simmer and add the soba noodles and allow to cook until tender.

Serves 4. 110 calories per serving.

Soba noodle soup.

 

 

This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She Hasn’t – Has She?

  1. Kadeeae says:

    Good luck, Lynn 🙂

    It is the ‘normal’ part that the OH and I had forgotten about (read: ignored!). We needed to address portion size more than anything, but yes, also calorie laden treats. Not really a ‘treat’ when you have it all the time is it? LOL

    My next biggest issue is exercise 😦

    • Exercise should really be a four letter word, shouldn’t it 😀
      I’m keeping myself to dog walking until I’ve lost some more weight, but perhaps once better weather comes in I might find myself going up to the tennis courts in the local park with the kids.
      Oh, my Wii Fit is now looking at me reproachfully.

Leave a Reply

