O Christmas Cake, O Christmas Cake…….

………I’m going to have to rush this bake………..

I’ve really got to keep my big gob shut.

One of the other ladies on the schools’ PTA is an incredible baker and she usually donates a cake for the hamper raffle at the Christmas Fair. She can’t do it this year, so my mouth – I swear I have no control over it sometimes – opened and said ‘oh, I’ll do one this year then’. The Fair, btw, is in 9 days, and I haven’t made my own cake, never mind anyone else’s yet!!!!!!

So it’s in the oven at this very minute, and I’m going to post photos and updates ‘in real time’ so that you can see that anyone can make a (fairly) classy looking cake, even if they leave it to the last minute.

Christmas Cake

  1. 225g plain flour
  2. 0.5 tsp ground cinnamon
  3. 0.5 tsp grated nutmeg
  4. pinch of salt
  5. 1 kg of mixed dried fruits (you know, the packages that already have the peel already added. If you don’t like peel then just make up 1 kg of sultanas, raisins and currants from individual packs, or you could go wild and use pineapple, mango or any other dried fruits).
  6. 200g glacé cherries
  7. 175g butter
  8. grated zest of an orange
  9. 100g caster sugar
  10. 75g dark brown sugar
  11. 4 eggs
  12. 4 tbsp spirits (I used whisky as that’s what’s lying around, but brandy or rum works equally as well)

Measure out all of the ingredients. Place all of them EXCEPT the cherries into a large bowl and use either an electric hand whisk or a food processor, whisk until they’re well amalgamated. Add the cherries last, otherwise they’ll break up to much, and fold them into the mixture.

Filling the pan

Using a double thickness of parchment paper, line a 23cm (9″) cake tin and spoon the mixture into it. Level the top with the back of a spoon and place in a pre-heated oven – 150c/300F/gas mark 2 – for 2 hours or until a skewer comes out clean when it’s inserted.

Ready for the oven.

Okay, I’ll post photos when it’s out of the oven – see you all in 2 hours 😀

EDIT: 2 hours are now up. The house smells delicious!!!

Lookin’ good

It’s passed the ‘skewer’ test.

Fingers crossed.

Leave it for half an hour to cool and then take it out of the tin and allow to cool completely.

EDIT: After half an hour strip away the lining papers and allow it to cool completely. Once it’s cold wrap it in clean greaseproof paper and a layer of tinfoil on the outside and leave it for (ideally) a week. I might just make it 6 days so that the marzipan has a chance to dry out before applying the icing.

Cake cooling

This entry was posted in Cake, Christmas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O Christmas Cake, O Christmas Cake…….

  1. Heather, Melbourne Australia says:

    Yes, I know all about that mouth volunteering for things before checking with the brain! But without that, I may never extend myself or leave my comfort zone. Afterwards, I have never regretted opening my big mouth. Positive energy flows, personal development happens. Your cake looks amazing Lynn; the raffle winner will love it. And you might just have inspired me to give it a go. Perfectly timed post too.

  2. Yo Heather 🙂 How’re you? Hope you decide to make it and let me know how you get on with it.

Leave a Reply

