Mango Madness

I’ve got to count a mango as one of natures more exquisite fruits. Okay, you’ve got a very large pit to contend with, but that’s easily dealt with. I’ve cut the flesh into hedgehog sections, I’ve sliced and diced. But I have 3 little words that may change your life.

Tinned mango purée.

Large supermarkets will have it in the World/Ethnic Foods section, or else find it in small grocer shops what cater for a Asian or Caribbean clientèle. I’ve bought it for years to make Mango Lassi when I’ve been cooking Indian foods, but just the other day I was having a wee muse (as you do) and wondered how it would taste in a Crème Brûlée?  And then, while rummaging in my cupboards, a tin of coconut milk fell over. Time for another muse.

Coconut Mango Brûlée

  1. Half a can of Mango purée (they always seem to come in 850g cans, but if you can find smaller, then go for it)
  2. 400g can of coconut milk
  3. 4 egg yokes
  4. 1.5 tbsp sugar
  5. Heaped tsp cornflour
  6. 1 tsp vanilla extract
  7. 2 tbsp caster sugar

This should make 6 ramekins or else it can be make in a large dish for sharing. I went for 3 ramekins and a smaller dish to show how it would turn out.

First of all fill the base of your container about 1 cm deep.

Mango puree

Crack the eggs and separate the yoke from the whites (you can freeze the whites for use later). Whisk the egg yokes with the sugar, cornflour and vanilla.

Custard ingredients

Heat the coconut milk on a saucepan until it bubbling away and then pour it over the egg mixture. Whisk briefly and then return it to the saucepan and continue whisking until it thickens. Gently ladle the coconut custard over the mango purée. Place in a Bain-marie in the oven (pre-heated to 170C) for about an hour until just set.

Cooled custard

Cool it and then put it into the fridge until quite firm – a couple of hours is a good estimate.

Caster sugar

Preheat your grill and then take the brulee’s out of the fridge and give them a thin, even dusting with caster sugar. I used my new toy)

My new toy

and flash them under the grill until the sugar is golden brown and then return it to the fridge until ready to eat.

Mango and Coconut Brulee

Enjoy with extreme pleasure.

This entry was posted in Pudding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mango Madness

  1. Sue says:

    That would make a lovely light end to a meal Lynn, rich but not sickly. Do you think a cinnamon tuille would compliment it?

  2. sue tilford says:

    that sounds delish

  3. Thank you both xxxxxx

    Sue, I’ve got to hang my head and admit I’ve never made a tuille, but cinnamon and mango……..I don’t see why not – sounds like my kind of combo.

Leave a Reply

