Summertime, and the living is easy……..

I think I can just about squeeze this in under the wire, can’t I? Okay, so it’s fast heading into Autumn and the nights, as we say in Scotland, are ‘fair drawin’ in’. And yes, you can make this with autumnal fruits (so long as you stew the apples first), but I’ve never made a Summer Pudding before, so, by golly, I’m going to add it to my repertoire. Never having made it before though, means that, as far as the kids are concerned it’s out of their comfort zone, and therefore is to be viewed with deepest suspicion. It is to be sniffed at, prodded with a spoon and then declared to be not what they want right at this moment, which is their way of saying ‘no thanks mum, but we don’t want to upset you by turning it down outright’. Because my kids know that by cooking for them, I’m showing them that I love them. Oh, and if they turn it down, I go into a right strop. So I’m the only one who has actually tried it, and all I can say is that they don’t know what they’re missing. Probably better if you can make it during a heat wave, it still was pretty good on a rainy dull September evening with a good dollop of Greek yoghurt to help it go down. Also, using stale bread that would probably just get blitzed into breadcrumbs and stuck into the freezer and only having 4 ingredients anyway, make this a very cheap as well as tasty pudding.

Summer Pudding

  1. 5 slices of stale bread
  2. 800g mixed summer berries – strawberries, raspberries, blackberries etc. You can use fresh or, as I did, 2 x 400g packs of frozen berries.
  3. 100g sugar
  4. butter for smearing the pudding bowl.

Hull (take off the stalks and leaves) the berries or else, if using frozen, just open the packs of frozen berries and place in a saucepan along with the sugar. Using a low heat, stir until all the sugar has melted into the juices.

Frozen fruit

Once you’ve done that, grease the interior of a 1lb pudding bowl and cut out a circle of bread for the bottom.

Bread circle

Take the crusts off the other slices and cut into roughly triangular shapes.

Triangles

Use the bread to line the pudding basin.

Lined basin

Then fill the basin to the top with the prepared fruit and top with a large slice of bread.

Filled basin

Place a saucer on top of the basin and weigh it down with something heavy – I used all the weights from my balance scales, but a tin of baked beans would work just as well. I also placed a saucer underneath the basin as some of the juices came out when I squeezed down. Ooops. Leave in the fridge for a minimum of 8 hours.

Summer Pudding

And the interior?

Nomnom

I had it with some Greek coconut yoghurt. Lovely.

Summer pudding with yoghurt

This entry was posted in Pudding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summertime, and the living is easy……..

  1. Honey says:

    Corrr, that does look good. I love Summer Pudding. I hope you’ve persuaded the children to try it because you are right… they don’t know what they’re missing.

  2. Not to shabby for a first attempt, is it? I did wonder about if I should overlap the bread as it might make the sides stronger (so it’d stand up when I unmolded it) or if it would be okay just in a single layer. Went for the overlaping and it worked perfectly..

  3. Jennifer McElroy says:

    Just gorgeous. Not much sign of summer here today though. it’s pouring with rain and blowing a gale and I have a heater on!
    Beautiful pictures..the greek coconut yoghurt sounds good.

  4. Snowy says:

    This looks delicious. Love summer pudding, but rarely make one. Am sure the kids would love it if they tried it.

Leave a Reply

